• Interco Swamp Lite Tire Review

    Interco Swamp Lite Tire Review


    Continuing the tradition of performance, the SwampLite ATV tire cuts a new standard of excellence in mud, snow and hard pack.

    Distinctly designed with all features contributing to excellent versatile performance and lighter ground disturbance than many tires with lesser capabilities. A true all terrain tire.

    Features:

    • Wide open, extra deep lug and aggressive tread pattern for excellent traction
    • Unique multi-stepped tread design is self cleaning
    • V Forward Tread Pattern for better steering stability
    • Wrap around tread for more side bite in rutted conditions
    • Embossed Condor Logo on side wall
    • 6 Ply Rating
    • Very Smooth Riding


    My Review
    In contrast with some of the heavier mud tires in the market (Outlaws, Mudzillas, Gorillas), the Interco Swamp Lite delivers great performance coming in at an average 4 pounds less per tire. Another bonus with this atv tire is its wide array of rim sizes and widths compared to tires designed only for mudding. The tires I tested were 28-9-14 and 28-9-11 on both a 2011 Honda 420 rancher and a 2014 700 Grizzly. Keep in mind these are towards the larger end of the spectrum, a smaller tire would give the whole ATV a different ride/feel.
    22"
    (in)
    (lbs)
    (lbs)
    22-11-9
    SWL54
    1.00
    23
    395
    22-8-10
    SWL52
    0.66
    14
    275
    22-11-10
    SWL56
    1.00
    23
    375
    22-7-11
    SWL59
    0.66
    12
    245
    23"
    23-8-10
    SWL57
    0.66
    14
    300
    24"
    24-8-12
    SWL61
    0.75
    16
    310
    25"
    25-12-9
    SWL55
    0.75
    23
    495
    25-11-10
    SWL58
    1.00
    28
    455
    25-8-11
    SWL60
    0.75
    19
    340
    25-10-11
    SWL62
    0.75
    22
    420
    25-8-12
    SWL64
    0.75
    19
    340
    25-10-12
    SWL66
    0.75
    23
    420
    26"
    26-9-12
    SWL67
    1.125
    24
    410
    26-10-12
    SWL68
    1.125
    27
    440
    26-12-12
    SWL70
    1.125
    31
    520
    27"
    27-9-12
    SWL71
    1.25
    27
    440
    27-10-12
    SWL72
    1.25
    29
    465
    27-12-12
    SWL74
    1.25
    30
    550
    27" - 14"
    27-9-14
    SWL79
    1.25
    26
    410
    27-11-14
    SWL80
    1.25
    30
    480
    28"
    28-10-12
    SWL76
    1.563
    38
    495
    28" - 14"
    28-9-14
    SWL81
    1.563
    29
    450
    28-11-14
    SWL82
    1.563
    35
    520
    29"
    29.5-10-12
    SWL78
    1.563
    40
    535


    The lesser weight and balanced tread design will improve durability and provide less strain on CV joint/driveshaft components. There is no tall paddle that can catch an unseen root jolting to halt and snapping a CV! This does not mean it will not perform in the mud, the tread still measures 2" from the base of the tire high and offer an aggressive pattern that wraps around the side of the tire. Steering a set of 30" Gorilla's can be a chore without power steering, this tire was only slightly more difficult than stockers without power steering on my Rancher.

    One thing I noticed was due to the nature of the "balanced" tread design, mud tends to stick in the treads a little longer than some of its competitor mud tires. Yes, I did spin more as expected in the sloppy stuff, but the ability to complete mud holes appeared to be the same as other tires, with a little more work/time on my part. The tall 28" took my Grizzly without a lift kit from a little over 9" to 12" of ground clearance. If someone wanted to put 30's on a Grizzly 700, they would most likely need a 2" suspension lift.

    Back to the 2011 Rancher 420, I expected to be able to turn 28" Swamp Lite's successfully in 4x4, however, the Rancher is not geared low enough to accommodate. One alternative many Honda owners install is a gear reduction ($1000 part+installation) which I would recommend as a requirement to turn larger 28" tires on the Honda. It has the power, but the automotive style transmission and gearing is designed more for sport performance and lacks that torque needed to pull through heavy muck in 4x4. At times, I would even have trouble turning them in 2x4 which is pretty aggravating.

    The 2014 700 Grizzly's continuously variable transmission and ability to switch to low/high/lock gear provided the torque needed to turn these tires and for any tires up to 30" for that matter. Never did I experience any problems where the tires just would not turn like in the Honda. The Grizzly outfitted with the 28" Swamp Lite's would just destroy a mud whole without an afterthought, its power and abilities are scary.

    On the street and offroad, these tires roll smooth as opposed to the paddle type lugs that can reek havoc on the rider bumping around like they are rolling over train tracks. No, it is not a "stock" feel, you will still be sitting a few inches higher and carrying more weight per tire, so you will notice this robbing some of the zeal at takeoff or cornering, but I would like to see the stockers hit a 4ft mud hole and walk through it like these Swamp Lite's are capable of.

    Although I tended to spin more in the mud than the Gorillas, the other tradeoffs to me are worth it. The Gorilla was too aggressive for the average buyer, and really has a narrow market and purpose. Whereas, I would recommend the Swap Lite's as a great performer in the mud while still offering great performance in all terrains. I have ran these tires at Muddy Bottoms in Louisiana twice and Mud Nationals twice and have no regrets. You will not be sorry, if you mount up a few pair!

    The Good
    Price and availability of sizes
    6 Ply durability
    Lighter than other competition mud tires
    Easier on drivetrain components
    Smooth ride on all terrains
    Great performance in mud
    They tread lightly
    Looks, they are a work of art

    The Bad
    Mud Shedding Properties, they tend to gum up fast
    Will not hook up as well in thick mud where "tractor tread" types (Gorilla, Outlaw, or Mudzilla) shine.